Founding of Electron Movers, Research in the Electronic Arts, Inc.

The Electron Movers is a video artist collective established in 1974 in Providence, Rhode Island, and active through 1979. The group comprises five individuals: Laurie McDonald, Robert and Dorothy Jungels, Alan Powell, and Dennis Hlynsky. Larry Heyl, Philip Palombo, and Ed Tannenbaum later join the group. The Electron Movers explore the intersections of many disciplines, including film/video, music, dance, visual arts, and electrical and optical engineering, challenging established moving image narrative formats in their attempt to explore video as a new language system.